Chairman: Robert (Bob) Campbell | Vice Chairman: Jay Salhanick | Official Rep. & Amb.: Bill Ng (HK & Macau)
 |   
Dojo Information History of Uechi Ryu Executive Officers The Instructor Course Features Members List Contact us 漢字言語
上地完文
 Sensei Kanbun Uechi (1877-1948)
Grandmaster of Uechi Ryu Karate
和歌山道場三大先輩:友寄隆優、上原三郎、上地完英 (上地完文免許狀授權)
  Kanbun Uechi, the Grandmaster of Uechi Ryu Karate, was born on the 5th May 1877 in Ryukyu Kingdom.

[The Legendary Stories]
  To avoid the Japanese conscription, Kanbun Uechi travelled to Fuzhou in 1897.  Kanbun Uechi first joined the Kojo dojo to learn the basic Chinese Kenpo, and later met "Shushiwa" (transliteration), the teacher of Southern Chinese Martial Arts, for learning the (Pangainoon) Kenpo, which includes the three elements of "Dragon", "Tiger", "Crane", and focuses on the style of "Tiger".  In 1909/1910, Kanbun Uechi returned to Okinawa.

[The Reliable History]
  In 1924, Kanbun Uechi moved to Wakayama of Japan.  In April 1926, an Okinawa man called Ryuyu Tomoyose/Tomoyori (born in February 1897, aged 29) tried to convince Kanbun Uechi to teach him Martial Arts in their working place, and later Kanbun Uechi held a simple dojo called "Pangainoon Ryu Tode-Jutsu Research Institute" (流唐手術研究所).  Since then, Ryuyu Tomoyose becomes the most senior disciple of Kanbun Uechi (aged 48).  At the same year, Saburo Uehara (born in 1900, aged 26) started to learn Pangainoon Ryu Tode-Jutsu (流唐手術) under Kanbun Sensei.

  In 1927, Kanei Uechi (born in June 1911 in Okinawa, aged 16), the eldest son of Kanbun Uechi, moved to Wakayama of Japan, and started to learn Pangainoon Ryu Tode-Jutsu (流唐手術) under his father.  At the same year, Seiryo Shinjo (born in June 1908, aged 18) started to learn Pangainoon Ryu Tode-Jutsu (流唐手術) under Kanbun Sensei.

  In 1932, Kanbun Sensei found an official dojo which opened to the public, and named it "Pangainoon Ryu Karate-Jutsu Research Institute" (流空手術研究所).  At the same year, Kanbun Sensei issued a charter to his outstanding disciple Saburo Uehara (aged 32).  (Saburo Uehara then moved to Taisho, and started to teach Martial Arts in his working place.
Kanbun Uechi's dojo

  In 1934, Kanbun Sensei explained to Kenwa Mabuni (the Grandmaster of Shito Ryu) that 流 referred to the rapid speed in its style.

  In 1937, Kanbun Sensei issued a charter to Kanei Uechi (aged 25).  (Kanei Uechi later opened one dojo in Osaka in 1939, and one dojo in Amagasaki in 1940.)

  In 1938, Seiko Toyama (born in October 1928, aged 9) started to learn Pangainoon Ryu Karate-Jutsu (流空手術) under Kanbun Sensei.  (After the death of Kanbun Sensei, Seiko Toyama followed Kanei Uechi to learn Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu.)

  In 1939, Seiyu Shinjo (born in July 1929, aged 10), the son of Seiryo Shinjo, started to learn Pangainoon Ryu Karate-Jutsu (流空手術) under Kanbun Sensei.  (After the death of Kanbun Sensei, Seiyu Shinjo followed Kanei Uechi to learn Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu.)

  In 1940, Seiki Itokazu (born in November 1915, aged 24) started to learn Pangainoon Ryu Karate-Jutsu (流空手術) under Kanei Uechi.  At the same year, the "Pangainoon Ryu Karate-Jutsu Research Institute" (流空手術研究所) was again renamed to "Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu Research Institute" (上地流空手術研究所), and confirmed to use the family name of Kanbun Uechi for the name of their Martial Arts style as "Uechi Ryu" (上地流), in order to give the honor to Kanbun Sensei.

  In 1942, Kanei Uechi returned to Okinawa.

  In 1945, Kanbun Sensei issued a charter to Ryuyu Tomoyose (aged 48).

  In 1946, Kanbun Sensei handed over his Wakayama dojo (later called "Uechi Ryu Tode Tomoyori Dojo / 上地流唐手友寄道場") to Ryuyu Tomoyose before returning to Okinawa again.  Ryuko Tomoyose (born in December 1928, aged 17), the son of Ryuyu Tomoyose, started to learn Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu under Kanbun Uechi in Okinawa.

  In 1947, Kanbun Sensei opened a dojo in Iejima.

  On the 25th November 1948, Kanbun Sensei passed away.

上原三郎、友寄隆優、上地完英
From left:  Saburo Uehara, Ryuyu Tomoyose/Tomoyori, Kanei Uechi
(Three Top students of Wakayama dojo under Kanbun Uechi)

  The Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu which passed down by Grandmaster Kanbun Uechi, includes three Katas:  Sanchin (三戰), Seisan (十三), and Sanseiryu (三十六), as well as the Kote-Kitae (小手鍛/arms conditioning).  Besides, Kanbun Sensei in his lifetime, issued the charters to total three top students of Wakayama dojo, includes:  Kanei Uechi (his eldest son), Ryuyu Tomoyose (his most senior disciple), and Saburo Uehara (his outstanding disciple).
  Since the "Uechi Ryu Tode Tomoyori Dojo" (上地流唐手友寄道場) in Wakayama of Japan is not influenced by the system of Okinawa Uechi Ryu, the two Katas of Sanchin (三戰), and Seisan (十三), as well as the Kote-Kitae (小手鍛/arms conditioning) in the Tomoyori Dojo, is closer to the original version of Kanbun Sensei.  In addition, according to the investigation of Pangai-noon Kenpo Academy (拳法研究会) under the Okinawa Uechi-Ryu Karate-Do Association (沖縄上地流唐手道協会), Kanbun Sensei treated Sanseiryu (三十六) as a family treasure, which was only inherited by his eldest son Kanei Uechi.
  Giving the fact that there is no pure Kanbun Uechi's version in Okinawa Uechi Ryu, the Uechi Ryu has developed into various lineages with similarities and differences.  Although every lineages or disciples have different interpretations of Uechi Ryu due to personal understanding and experience, the source of schools in Uechi Ryu are all inherited from Kanbun Sensei.

上地完英
Sensei Kanei Uechi (1911-1991)
Second Soke of Uechi Ryu

Kanei Uechi Sensei, Second Soke of Uechi-Ryu Karate
(Click to Enlarge)
  Master Kanei Uechi, the Second Soke of Uechi Ryu, was born on the 26th June 1911 in Okinawa.  His father is Kanbun Uechi, the Grandmaster of Uechi Ryu Karate.

  In 1927, Kanei Uechi moved to Wakayama of Japan, and started to learn Pangainoon Ryu Tode-Jutsu (流唐手術) from Kanbun Uechi.  After more than nine years practice, Kanei Uechi was issued a charter from Kanbun Sensei, then he later opened one dojo in Osaka in 1939, and one dojo in Amagasaki in 1940.
Kanei Uechi 1940s
(Sensei Kanei Uechi in Amagasaki dojo)

  In 1942, Kanei Uechi returned to Okinawa.

  On the 25th November 1948, Kanbun Sensei passed away.

  In 1949, Kanei Uechi opened one dojo in Nodake of Ginowan and one dojo in Kanzatobaru of Naha.
Kanei Uechi 1950s Nodake dojo of Ginowan

  The Nodake dojo in 1955 and later the Kanzatobaru dojo in 1957 were moved and combined as one dojo in Futenma.  The dojo name of "Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu Research Institute" was officially changed to "Uechi Ryu Karate Dojo" afterwards.

[The System of Okinawa Uechi Ryu]
  In around 1955-1960, Kanei Uechi and nine Uechi Ryu disciples (Saburo Uehara, Seiko Toyama, Seiki Itokazu, Ryuko Tomoyose, Kunio Miyagi, Masao Ishihara, Kawata, Shintoku Takara, Shigeru Takamiyagi) joined together and started to further develop the system of Uechi Ryu.  They created and added the five Katas:  Kanshiwa (完子和), Kanshu (完周), Seichin (十戰), Seiryu (十六), and Kanchin (完戰), as well as the Junbi Undo (準備運動), Hojo Undo (補助運動), and Yakusoku Kumite (約束組手) into the style, which formed the basic structure of the "Okinawa Uechi Ryu".

  On the 23rd February 1991, Kanei Sensei passed away.

友寄隆宏
Sensei Ryuko Tomoyose (1928-2019)
Hanshi & Judan of Uechi Ryu Karate-Do

Skill Holder of
Intangible Cultural Asset in Okinawa
(Okinawa Karate‧Kobujutsu)
  Master Ryuko Tomoyose, Hanshi & Judan of Uechi Ryu Karate-Do, an Okinawan who was born on the 10th December 1928 in Japan, and later he was sent back to Okinawa when he was 3 years old to be raised by his grandparents.  His father, Ryuyu Tomoyose, was the most senior disciple of Kanbun Uechi.

  During the period of World War II (1 Sep 1939 to 2 Sep 1945), Ryuko Tomoyose studied under Chojun Miyagi, the Grandmaster of Okinawa Goju Ryu, in the backyard of his home dojo, for around 18 months (Kata:  Gekisai, Saifa, Seiyunchin, Kururunfa).

  In 1946, Ryuko Tomoyose started to learn Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu under Kanbun Uechi.

  On the 25th November 1948, Kanbun Sensei passed away.

  In 1949, Ryuko Tomoyose followed Kanei Uechi to learn Uechi Ryu Karate-Jutsu.
Ryuko Tomoyose in 1950
(Nodake dojo of Ginowan under Kanei Uechi, in 1950)

[The Root of the Tree]
  In 1956, Ryuko Tomoyose started to become an interpreter of Kanei Uechi for assisting the operation of the dojo in Ginowan, and soon then, he was told by Kanei Uechi to teach the American servicemen who came from the Military Base (Torii Station) of Yomitan in Okinawa.  Thus, George E. Mattson and his fellows started to learn Uechi Ryu Karate under Tomoyose Sensei in his home dojo, everyday 5PM to 8PM.

  In 1958, George E. Mattson (Recommender:  Ryuko Tomoyose) passed the examination of qualification of Black Belt Shodan with receiving the highest score in the Futenma dojo.  Then, Tomoyose Sensei told George E. Mattson to spread Uechi Ryu Karate-Do after his return to USA;

  More later, George E. Mattson becomes the Father of Uechi Ryu in America.  George E. Mattson Sensei and his students would have many chances to learn from Tomoyose Sensei, Kanei Uechi Sensei, and other Okinawa masters in both America and Okinawa.

  In 2000, Tomoyose Sensei was appointed as the Skill Holder of Intangible Cultural Asset (Okinawa Karate‧Kobujutsu) in Okinawa.

  On the 10th April 2019, Tomoyose Sensei passed away.
[Further Reading...]

上地流国際唐手道協会(香港支部),簡稱: 上地流国際(香港支部)
Uechi Ryu International Karate-Do Association (Hong Kong Branch), also known as: Uechi International (HK Branch)

English Language  Chairman:  Robert (Bob) Campbell
 Vice Chairman:  Jay Salhanick
 Official Rep. & Amb.:  Bill Ng (HK & Macau)
 |   
道 場 情 報 上 地 流
歷 史
理 事 役 員 指導員 紹介 課 程 特 色 會 員 名 冊 常 見 問 題 聯 繫 我 們
上地完文
上地 完文 先生 (1877-1948)
上地流空手道 流祖
和歌山道場三大先輩:友寄隆優、上原三郎、上地完英 (上地完文免許狀授權)
  上地流空手道流祖 上地完文 先生,1877年5月5日出生於 第二尚氏王朝末代的琉球 [註1]

[流 傳 故 事]
  為了避開日軍征兵,上地完文 於1897年遠渡福州,先在湖城道場學習基本中國拳法,後來遇上南少林拳師 周子和(音譯漢字) 並隨行學習Pangainoon拳法(元素集合「龍」、「虎」、「鶴」三形,並以「虎」為主)。1909/1910年,上地完文 返回沖繩。

[可 信 歷 史]
  1924年,上地完文 遷移日本和歌山;1926年4月被沖繩人 友寄隆優(1897年2月出生、29歲) 遊說於工作地方授武,並設立簡單的「Pangainoon(音譯漢字:半硬軟)流唐手術研究所」[註2],友寄隆優 自此成為上地完文(48歲)之大弟子。同年,上原三郎(1900年出生、26歲) 開始跟隨 上地完文 學習Pangainoon流唐手術。

  1927年,上地完文之長子 上地完英(1911年6月出生於沖繩、16歲) 遷移日本和歌山,開始跟隨父親學習Pangainoon流唐手術。同年,新城清良(1908年6月出生、18歲) 開始跟隨 上地完文 學習Pangainoon流唐手術。

  1932年,上地完文 創立了正式公開及改稱的「Pangainoon流空手術研究所」[註3]。同年,上地完文 頒譽免許狀給其高弟子 上原三郎(32歲)。(上原三郎 隨後遷移大正,並於工作地方授武。)
Kanbun Uechi's dojo
* 前列: 友寄隆優(左二)  <- 上地完文(中央) -> 上地完英(右二)

  1934年,上地完文 向日本糸東流流祖 摩文仁賢和 說明Pangainoon流為極其迅速的拳法。

  1937年,上地完文 頒譽免許狀給 上地完英(25歲)。(上地完英 先後於1939年在大阪、1940年在尼崎開設道場。)

  1938年,當山清幸(1928年10月出生、9歲) 開始跟隨 上地完文 學習Pangainoon流空手術。(上地完文 逝世後,當山清幸 跟隨 上地完英 學習上地流空手術。)

  1939年,新城清良之子 新城清優(1929年7月出生、10歲) 開始跟隨 上地完文 學習Pangainoon流空手術。(上地完文 逝世後,新城清優 跟隨 上地完英 學習上地流空手術。)

  1940年,糸數盛喜(1915年11月出生、24歲) 開始跟隨 上地完英 學習Pangainoon流空手術。同年,「Pangainoon流空手術研究所」被以 上地完文 的姓氏為榮譽致敬,再改稱「上地流空手術研究所」,確認流派為「上地流」。

  1942年,上地完英 返回沖繩。

  1945年,上地完文 頒譽免許狀給 友寄隆優(48歲)。

  1946年,上地完文 把和歌山道場(後稱「上地流唐手友寄道場」)交托給 友寄隆優 後返回沖繩。友寄隆優之子 友寄隆宏/隆光(1928年12月出生、17歲) 開始於沖繩跟隨 上地完文 學習上地流空手術。

  1947年,上地完文 在伊江島開設道場。

  1948年11月25日,上地完文 逝世。

上原三郎、友寄隆優、上地完英
* 左起: 上原三郎、友寄隆優、上地完英
(上地完文和歌山道場的三大先輩)

  開祖 上地完文 傳下的上地流空手術,包括「三戰」、「十三」、「三十六」三型 及 小手鍛,而生前共頒譽免許狀給 上地完英(長子)、友寄隆優(大弟子)、上原三郎(高弟子) 三位和歌山道場的大先輩。
  由於日本和歌山「上地流唐手友寄道場」未受沖繩上地流系統的影響,友寄道場的「三戰」、「十三」二型 及 小手鍛,較接近上地完文的原始版本。此外,根據「沖縄上地流唐手道協会附屬Pangainoon拳法研究会」的調查,「三十六」型 被上地完文視為家傳之寶,只由其長子 上地完英 繼承。
  事實上,沖繩上地流不存在純正的上地完文版本,卻產生異同的上地流派系;儘管各派系或眾弟子對上地流的演繹因個人理解及經驗而存在差異,源流上皆傳承自上地完文。

[註1]
(1.1) 「琉球群島」三山時代的中山王 察度,於1372年主動前往明朝進貢,並從那時起至1646年的南明初,成為其藩屬國。1429年,新任中山王 尚巴志 在明朝的支持下戰勝北山及南山,以首里城為王城統一三山,成立「琉球王國」;1609年,於位日本九州西南部的薩摩藩率兵入侵琉球,強逼琉球以附庸國身份進貢,使其成為兩屬狀態。
(1.2) 1644年,清兵入關攻陷北京,改國號為清朝;逃亡的明朝皇族於南方大臣擁護下成立南明,而琉球於1644-1646年仍保持向南明進貢。
(1.3) 1644-1652年,琉球一直拒絕承認大清為宗主國,直至1653年正式進貢。
(1.4) 1871年,日本於明治初政,廢除薩摩藩,並改其為鹿兒島縣。
(1.5) 1653-1879年,琉球成為清朝至光緒年間的藩屬國;1871年,琉球貢船意外漂至清治時期的臺灣水域,觸發八瑤灣事件,由於琉球的兩屬狀態,日本借機於1872年首次處分琉球,把琉球王國改為「琉球藩」,清朝對此拒不承認。
(1.6) 1879年,日本以琉球拒絕中止與清朝的外交關係為由,實施廢藩設縣再度處分琉球,琉球藩被廢除,並歸入鹿兒島縣,後於同年設立「沖繩縣」。為此,清朝與日本進行交涉及談判多年;最終清朝於甲午戰爭戰敗後,不再向日本提及沖繩的主屬問題。

[註2]
(2.1) 華南功夫的拳法概念,「半硬軟」為常用同義詞;
(2.2) 「唐手」一詞,最早出於1830年代,佐久川寬賀 把中國拳法引入於琉球手而結合形成。

[註3]
(3.1) 1901年,沖繩政府希望縣內學校把體育課的「唐手」改稱「空手」;
(3.2) 1905年,花城長茂 發布以「空手組手」形容自己所研究的唐手組手;
(3.3) 1929年,船越義珍 把自己所教授的「唐手」改名為「空手」;
以上事項均引起沖繩唐手家的關注。

上地完英
上地 完英 先生 (1911-1991)
上地流空手道 宗家二代目

Kanei Uechi Sensei, Second Soke of Uechi-Ryu Karate
(按圖放大)
  上地流空手道宗家二代目 上地完英 先生,1911年6月26日出生於沖繩。上地完英的父親為上地流空手道流祖 上地完文。

  1927年,上地完英 遷移日本和歌山,開始跟隨 上地完文 學習Pangainoon流唐手術,並於修煉九年多後取得免許狀。上地完英 先後於1939年在大阪、1940年在尼崎開設道場。
Kanei Uechi 1940s
(尼崎道場 上地完英 先生)

  1942年,上地完英 返回沖繩。

  1948年11月25日,上地完文 逝世。

  1949年,上地完英 先後在宜野灣市野嵩、那霸市神里原開設道場。
Kanei Uechi 1950s Nodake dojo of Ginowan
* 前列左起: 泉辰正、玉寄義昌、友寄隆宏/隆光、新城清優
後列左起: 石原昌雄、當山清幸、新垣定雄、仲間千一、宮城幸英
後方一人: 宮城邦雄
(上地完英 宜野灣市野嵩道場、1950年)

  1955、1957年,野嵩及神里原道場再先後被遷移並合併至普天間,「上地流空手術研究所」隨後被正式改稱為「上地流空手道場」[註4]

[沖繩上地流系統]
  約1955至1960年,上地完英與九位上地流門人(上原三郎、當山清幸、糸數盛喜、友寄隆宏/隆光、宮城邦雄、石原昌雄、川田/河田、高良信德、高宮城繁) 開始聯合起來發展上地流,並使其更系統化;先後分別加創「完子和」、「完周」、「十戰」、「十六」、「完戰」五型,亦定立「準備運動」、「補助運動」、「約束組手」,形成了沖繩上地流的基本。

  1991年2月23日,上地完英 逝世。

[註4]
1936年,「唐手」正式被日本統一改名為「空手」,並冠上「道」成為今天「空手道」之名。

友寄隆宏
友寄 隆宏/隆光 先生 (1928-2019)
上地流空手道 範士十段

沖繩縣指定非物質文化財產保持者
(沖繩空手‧古武術)
  上地流空手道範士十段 友寄隆宏(又譯:隆光) 先生,1928年12月10日出生於日本的沖繩人,後於1931年被送返沖繩由祖父母照顧。友寄隆宏的父親為上地完文之大弟子 友寄隆優。

  友寄隆宏 曾於第二次世界大戰期間 [註5] 在沖繩剛柔流空手道流祖 宮城長順 先生的自宅道場(後院)跟隨其學習了約十八個月時間(形:擊碎、碎破、制引戰、久留頓破)。

  1946年,友寄隆宏 開始跟隨 上地完文 學習上地流空手術。

  1948年11月25日,上地完文 逝世。

  1949年,友寄隆宏 跟隨 上地完英 學習上地流空手術。
Ryuko Tomoyose in 1950
(上地完英 宜野灣市野嵩道場、1950年)
 
[開 放 傳 承]
  1956,友寄隆宏 於宜野灣市道場開始協助 上地完英 課堂翻譯,不久後 上地完英 更指示 友寄隆宏 指導駐守沖繩讀谷村通訊基地的美軍;因此,George E. Mastton 等人便開始於 友寄隆宏 的自宅道場(每天下午5時至晚上8時)跟隨其學習上地流空手。

  1958年,George E. Mattson (推薦者:友寄隆宏)於普天間道場,以最高分數通過了審查獲得黑帶初段的資格認可,亦被交帶返回美國後推廣上地流空手道;
  
  其後,George E. Mattson 先生成為美國上地流之父,並多次與學生們於美國及沖繩兩地,接受 友寄隆宏 及 上地完英 等沖繩師範的指導。

  2000年,友寄隆宏 被沖繩縣政府指定為非物質文化財產「沖繩空手‧古武術」保持者。

  2019年4月10日,友寄隆宏 逝世。

[註5]
第二次世界大戰(WWII),始於1939年9月1日、終於1945年9月2日。
[延 伸 閱 讀...]

上地流国際唐手道協会(香港支部),簡稱: 上地流国際(香港支部)
Uechi Ryu International Karate-Do Association (Hong Kong Branch), also known as: Uechi International (HK Branch)